David Archibald addressed the senate?

In response to a comment below my post about David Archibald, I decided to check things out. There is a website belonging to the Institute of World Politics (IWP). The IWP is a “Graduate School of National Security and International Affairs”. I don’t know quite what they are about other than their list of guest speakers has former heads of the CIA and former diplomats, most of whom seem to be from central American countries. Whatever, I don’t know what their story is but given they are giving David Archibald air, one has to wonder where they sit. Archibald as I pointed out in a previous post, is a whole world of crazy.

So, what is it of Archibald’s they are promoting? Check this screenshot out.

David Archibald addressed the Senate?

The page can be found here. It asks you to click a link for his “testimony”. What it opens up is a speech transcript from Archibald presumably to a Liberal Party conference asking them to select him for a spot on a senate ticket. That is a long way from testifying “before the Australian Senate.”

I emailed the IWP asking for their clarification.

my email asking for clarification.

I am yet to receive a reply. I have subsequently contacted David Archibald. See below.

Time will tell if I will get a reply. I doubt I will and I’ll just have to chalk it up to more dishonesty from deniers.

12 Comments

Filed under Rogue's Gallery

12 responses to “David Archibald addressed the senate?

  1. WTF - Indeed......

    I can see that you emailed the IWP on Monday and they have not responded in a whole business week of their time. When did you email David Archibald? Was that a week ago too?

    The thing is that “testimony” looks like the notes or written speech that Liberal party attendees had to sit through. I doubt it was distributed in any way shape or form. David Archibald would have had to have provided it to the IWP, along with a descriptor of what it was.

    It is hard to believe that any “Institute” would post stuff without even reading it. No matter what he told them, they dropped the ball. They probably do not even have a real location.

    There is too much money in this denier business. I live in Sydney and David Archibald regularly comes over for carbon tax “rallies”. Someone big is footing the bill.

    I wonder if big oil funds places like the IWP Institute and they funnel the money to activiists like David Archibald, making it look like an actual salary.

    • I realise I haven’t given them any time to reply and the same goes for Archibald. I decided to get it down on paper now so I can move on to other things. I really don’t expect to get any replies from the IWP or Archibald. However, if I do I will post an update.

      • WTF - Indeed......

        Oh no, I meant that they have had a WHOLE WEEK. That’s quite awhile and the IWP should have at least responded with we are looking into it. Same with that David Archibald fellow. He would know whether he testified or gave a speech. Unless he was off his meds. A day should be enough for him to get back to you, not a week. Avoidance.

        I wonder what that WUWT announcement will be? Something self serving, to be sure.

  2. john byatt

    Meanwhile at WTFUWT I see that the lower troposphere is warming faster than the surface

    FFS

  3. Daphne

    Just a quick question – how did David Archibald address the Senate on 14 July 2012 which was a Saturday and a non-sitting day? See calendar at: http://www.aph.gov.au/About_Parliament/Sitting_Calendar.

    The other reference you might be interested in is the article regarding Mr Archibald from Skeptical Science – http://www.skepticalscience.com/david-archibald-exaggerates-solar-influence-on-future-climate-change.html.

    • Thanks Daphne

      We’ll have to wait and see how or if Archibald replies. Likewise, I asked the IWP for their clarification. I suspect they won’t respond.

      • WTF - Indeed......

        I saw that when you emailed the IWP, you used a form. They also have an email address. info@iwp.edu They might reply quicker to an email rather than a form.
        I think the more people who email them and ask about the origin of this claim, the more likely it is they will respond.
        I am sick of denier lies.
        I think I will email them and ask if I can get a masters degree in MISINFORMATION.

    • WTF - Indeed......

      You can also go to the APH website and search for anything that has happened. (Thanks Daphne, you prompted me to go there.)

      Go to:
      http://parlinfo.aph.gov.au/parlInfo/search/summary/summary.w3p;adv=yes;orderBy=customrank;page=0;query=%22david%20archibald%22;resCount=Default

      and you will see that David Archibald, solar cycle and sunspot extraordinaire, as well as mining magnate and cancer guru, has made submissions, but never once testified.

      One submission was on steel. A couple were on climate – global warming.

      One submission in 2003 was on child support. I bet he’s against that too.

      If you do other searches, you will see that the true testimony is spelled out as testimony, not submissions like David Archibald has done.

      Anyone can do a submission.

      What a joke that David Archibald is hiding from the truth. What a joke the Institute of World Politics is.

  4. wtf - indeed

    It looks like the IWP has taken the page down. I emailed them with no response. Did you get responses from any of the parties involved?

  5. Pingback: David Archibald – denialism to the max | uknowispeaksense