AGW proponent comment of the day August 28, 2012

I don’t know who NealT is, but his comment over at WTFIWWAW is a good one. Not just for the content, but also the seemingly calm and measured language in it. I have reproduced it below without permission because I don’t know who he is. I hope he doesn’t mind.

NeilT says:

Dear me, predictions come in all sizes and types. In fact 4 out of the 5 key objections here were predicted back on August 12 and like pavlovs dogs, WUWT gladly ranted their hearts out.

The only prediciton which did not get fulfilled was sensor failure…. I must admit I’m a little surpised as WUWT always claims that DMI sensors have failed every time it drops like a stone. Funny satellites those which fail and then start working perfectly when eggshell thin ice re-forms very rapidly very late in the season….

However Anthony you are bending the truth, yet again. NSIDC is almost the LAST record to fall. Not the first or the only. But, of course, you had to wait until the situation settled enough before you could start spreading your poison so it would be believable.

I see a trend here. People on the board keep saying we’re recovering from the little ice age and so there should be a melt. Yet there is a second and almost constant thread which says that ice is recovering. These two opinions are diametrically opposed yet everyone here seems to think they make the case in two different ways.

WUWT has been making constant noise about how the ice is NOT melting yet the WUWT submissions for SEARCH have dropped by 1msqkm between 2007 and now.

Pinnoccio methinks your nose is growing.

As the weeks go on and the ice does not recover, you will, again, say absolutely nothing. You will only perk up again when the temperature drops to -100 for a week and generates 6 inches of flash frozen ice in a sudden spurt. Then again it’ll be a sudden and “unprecedented” re-freeze of the ice. Never mind the fact that the ice will not reach the 2006/9 low ice winter levels. The fact that the average winter temperatures around Greenland will be 30C – 40C higher than normal over a period of weeks, no let’s ignore all that.

Only on WUWT could the arctic sea lose heat all winter but not gain heat in the summer, creating a net effect of cooling which will then melt even MORE ice the following year.

Escher had nothing on the logic of WUWT. But of course it’s not logic is it. It is simply making any claim which could possibly be believed by anyone so that an incredible and impossible claim can be upheld.

True to form and true to type. Even more so as the whole site lacks logic so badly that nobody can see the basic inconsistency of the position. One key message I use to make people wake up and understand the position is the basic inconsistency of the denialosphere arguments. Argue one thing one day and another the day after. Never cross check to see if you are making sense, what good would that do? Belive me you make my case much more forcibly than I could. All I have to do is point out the basic inconsistency of sites like this and I have people convinced.

What thousands of graphs and billions of lines of data will not do for the common person, WUWT does for me perfectly.

Keep it up. It helps me enormously.

Well said NeilT, well said. I got banned for less.

7 Comments

Filed under AGW comments

7 responses to “AGW proponent comment of the day August 28, 2012

  1. David Archibald - WTF Indeed

    Well done NeilT. It is good to see that some people are getting through the one sided moderation.

  2. When I read Neil’s post after following a lead I wondered whether I had arrived at WTFUWT….or some send-up-site or Kansas….no moderation and no response from the flying monkeys.

    His Escher metaphor is most apt.

  3. john byatt

    Watts removed my post. Something he claims he does not do. Did I get a little too close to the bone??

    Posted by: NeilT | August 28, 2012 at 13:52

    Close to the bone Neil T ?

    You sliced his arse up

  4. NeilT

    NeilT is nobody really. Just an ordinary guy with a fully functioning BSOmeter who doesn’t suffer idiots gladly. He also posts as sufferance=nil in places which kind of says it all.

    To be honest you are free to use anything I may drop on Watts head and so is anyone else. Reproduction rights are free to all for anything I write online or I would not write it there.

    From time to time I give Watts a beating, tick Revkin off (although I’ve been avoiding his blog for some time now), annoy Joe Romm when I tell him he’s being manipulated by the politico’s and drop comments around of my observations on things I think I see happening. I’m not always right or even right most of the time. But you don’t have to be very right to call what is happening now with >50% certainty.

    I’m an IT guy who comes from an Engineering background and has been heavily interested in AGW since the early 90’s. As an IT guy I was very early to the sheer quantity of information available online and used it to research.

    I spend a lot of my day writing documents to communicate with or sway the opinions of managers and budget holders. I try to use that in my posts.

    You guys do a lot more than I do but I’ll always help when I can to make sure the message is known and the charlatans are outed.

    • Pleased to meet you Neil. Sometimes nobodys like you and I can make a difference. I don’t do this anywhere near as much as I’d like to but do what I can. I work as a casual lecturer and have my own wildlife ecology research projects. My research is about to get busy over the next few months as we move into Spring here in Australia.
      I’ve never visited Revkin but perhaps thats overdue. Its funny but I originally started this blog as a resource spot for ecology papers on range shifts. Now I spend all my blog time doing denier stuff. I see denial as a mental disorder or a disease and I don’t wish to see it spread. Anyway, take care, visit occasionally. I like the way you write. Mike

  5. I am not surprised this comment got deleted: It could not be responded to with sarcasm; and Watts does not like being called a liar – because it puts him in a very difficult position (of not being able to refute the accusation).

  6. NeilT

    Hi Mike,

    You are bookmarked. I guess we all have to keep on beating up the blatant deniers or the ordinary person in the street will be believed.

    I’ve had some very different results at Watts, however I have had an apology from one of the moderators when my post was replied to with completely aggressive and out of the box comments. A normal day in denial land.

    Recently some people on a forum I often visit were talking about how useless it was to do anything. So I suggested they get over to 350.org and get their opinion registered by a group who will represent their views.

    Well it’s a long haul and things are going to be much plainer in a decade. A decade we really can’t afford.

    Nice to know you and I’ll be around.

    Neil.