When amateurs attack.

Here’s an interesting one. I was over at Jo Nova’s temporary new site having a chuckle at all the conspiracy ideation going on surrounding the closing of her old site. In amongst all the claims of hacking there were some classics Here’s an example.

 

 

 

Really Paul? You think the feds are in on it? Step away from the keyboard Paul. Get some fresh air. Another comment caught my eye. This dude also reckons it’s about censorship. His comment below is directed at whoever “hacked” Jo’s site.

 

At this point, I feel the need to direct Mark H to this post. The woman whose boots you lick Mark H must be, by your definition, faint-hearted. Anyway, denier comments isn’t the main point of this post. Further down the page of comments at Jo’s was an entry with a link to another blog called “The View from Here” where readers are asked to participate in a survey. Before you go there, please read the rest of this post. What this survey is, is an extremely amateurish attempt to try to prove a point and it is a classic example of how not to conduct a poll. Rather than explain what is wrong with it. Here are two comments I posted that are sitting in moderation that highlight the main problems.

 

 

How do I know it has only been posted on denier blogs? Well, here are the preliminary results.

 

82% of voters voting for James Delinpole. That’s how. Anyway, I’m not going to ask my readers to go there and vote in any particular way..unless of course they want to, but for me, it so badly designed, worded and executed, it can only produce dodgy results. I am inclined to think that now I have highlighted its flaws, anyone going there from here and voting will render it completely void. It will be interesting to keep an eye out at Jo Nova, Bishop Hill or any of the other sites in the blogroll of “The View from Here” for the survey results. I will make a point of directing people to this blog entry when I see it.

5 Comments

Filed under Rogue's Gallery

5 responses to “When amateurs attack.

  1. atoieno

    Not commenting on the survey…not worthy of participation or comment. However the reaction to the downing of Jo’s site and the wave of grief and conspiracy infused anger from the lot that have commented is interesting.
    I frequent a very popular site for Land Rover enthusiasts…it has been taken down a few times by Denial of Service attacks. The reaction of it’s members and guests has been one of acceptance of the reality of the junglenet……never has here been a thought expressed that it might have been a concerted effort by toyota/nissan/mitsubishi enthusiasts. The jumping to conclusions by her throng might be evidence for the Stephan Lewandowski hypothesis…but then again?

    • Going off topic in my own blog but I also visit a Landrover site. Usually when I need some mechanical advice about my 95 disco. That said, I can understand why Landrover people love their vehicles. Mine has done west of Birdsville, half of Tassie and Cape York’s telegraph track. I’ve treated him like crap really and he keeps on going.

    • john byatt

      good point I wondered why Lewandowski even needed a survey, a few weeks on the denier blogs reading the comments would have been enough for a paper on there own