The loony right = misogyny?

I was looking in the usual places for a DCOD and stumbled onto one at Jo Nova’s from Anthony ‘climatologist not’ Cox. Going by his tag of “cohenite” he had this to say about Julia Gillard.

“…Lewinsky the issues are close to ONE of the controversies surrounding Gillard; which is, how can a women assert misogyny when her personal life is littered with affairs with married men, which by any standards, are a betrayal of the wife.”

Wow! “…littered with affairs…”? Really? There was some issue surrounding Craig Emerson as I recall but as far as I can make out, that isn’t plural and doesn’t resemble a past “littered with affairs”. For me though, I couldn’t really care less for politicians’ personal lives. But what is it with Anthony and his exaggerations? He is clearly exaggerating here and he has a history of exaggerating his own qualifications. Is it pathological? What other stories does he embellish? All of them?

Anyway, the topic of this post is misogyny. I find it interesting that Anthony chose the topic of Gillard’s attack on Abbott to make his point. There are plenty of other topics he could have used. Before I go on though, I have to wonder if it is actually possible for a woman to be a misogynist? Isn’t that a bit like calling a gay man a homophobe? Anyway, Anthony chose to highlight misogyny and I have to wonder if perhaps in doing so, if he is defending misogyny? This is of course idle speculation but let’s take a look at the political party he belongs to, the Climate Sceptics Party. Here is “The Team“.

Bill Koutalianos – President

Bill Pounder- Vice President

Anthony Cox – Secretary

Geoffrey Brown – Treasurer and blogger

Paul Bovolos – Newsletter Manager

Stefan Landher – Election blogger

Leon Ashby – Past president and Senate candidate

Chris Dawson – Senate candidate

Beau Woods – Senate candidate

Terry Cardwell – Senate candidate

Gordon Alderson – Election strategist

I guess all the little women have to make scones and pour cups of tea for the meetings so these mostly middle-aged, scientifically illiterate white men can get on with the important business of ….. whatever it is they do.

5 Comments

Filed under Rogue's Gallery

5 responses to “The loony right = misogyny?

  1. Sou

    Re can women be misogynists, I expect there are women who loathe women but doubt it’s common. (Women loathing men is known as misandry I believe.)

    I’ve recently been reading posts by men who mistakenly think that PM Gillard doesn’t like men. Their argument goes something like – Ms Gillard doesn’t like it when men are misogynistic or sexist therefore she doesn’t like men. My guess is that such men either fear or loathe women, therefore – using the mental model notion of Prof Lewandowsky – because these men feel that way they think that all men fear or loathe women, therefore women who complain about sexism loathe all men. It has a certain logic to it, but it does denote a pretty weird view of the world and a very limited social network.

    It’s an issue close to my heart because I’ve recently been permanently banned from a large popular forum after letting the forum moderators know about some nasty misogynistic posts! (It’s not a science forum but has a science section – mostly filled with deniers and paranoid conspiracy theorists. The forum mods and management don’t like women and particularly not science types who post about climate science!)

    • Which forum is that? I might see if I can add it to my list of sites I’ve been banned from. 

      It’s easy to find a little bit of logic in any lunacy. There is a story (myth perhaps) that psychopaths will tend to answer a particular question in a certain way. It goes something like this. Q. A man and woman meet at the funeral of a mutual friend and the man  falls instantly in love. They chat about this and that but he forgets to get her contact details. A month later the man murders the brother of the person who had died a month earlier. Why? A. The man killed the brother because he figured the woman, knowing the  first person would likely also know the brother and so would attend the funeral. It’s his way of getting to see her. It’s completely logical but completely insane too.  

      ________________________________

  2. Sou

    By the way, if anyone knows a good human rights lawyer who might work pro bono or at cut rates, let me know :D

  3. Sou

    Yes – there are some weird people out there.

    (I don’t want to go into details about the ban yet, because I still might take them to court.)

  4. Sou

    Advice received today from a sympathetic and experienced lawyer who practices in the human rights area is that winning a suit against misogynists could wear me out but would barely make a dent in sexism and misogyny on the internet.

    So now I can out the site as HotCopper. Supposedly a site to discuss shares. However when people get tired of ramping penny stocks, the site operators provide a safe haven for extremist right wing, white, sexist, racist and homophobic old men who, needless to say, reject climate science and mercilessly bully those of us who know anything about it. HotCopper operators talk a lot about free speech but silence everyone with whom they disagree by deleting posts or banning them from posting at all.

    I’ve obviously led a sheltered life because before I joined HotCopper, I didn’t realise there were still so many neanderthals here in Australia (with apologies to actual Neanderthals who were undoubtedly more advanced than these guys :D)